John C. Pollock Award for Christian Biography

The Pollock Award honors the great Christian biographer John C. Pollock and is presented annually by Beeson Divinity School of Samford University to the author of the year’s outstanding Christian biography.

Publishers wishing to nominate a biography for the Pollock Award should contact Dean Timothy George.

Past Winners

     Mark Noll and Carolyn Nystrom 
                Clouds of Witnesses:Christian Voices from Asia and Africa (Intervarsity 2011)
2011     Eric Metaxas 
                Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy (Thomas Nelson 2010)
2010     John Wigger 
                American Saint: Francis Asbury and the Methodists (Oxford University Press 2009)
2009    Barry Hankins 
                Francis Schaeffer and the Shaping of American Evangelicalism (Eerdmans 2008)
2008     Jonathan Aiken 
                 John Newton: From Disgrace to Amazing Grace (Crossway 2007)
2007     Stephen A. Graham 
                  Ordinary Man Extraordinary Mission: The Life and Work of E. Stanley Jones (Abingdon 2005)
2006     Alan Jacobs 
                  The Narnian (HarperOne 2005)
2005     Francis J. Bremer 
                  John Winthrop: America's Forgotten Founding Father (Oxford University Press 2005)
2004    George Marsden 
                Jonathan Edwards: A Life (Yale University Press 2004)
2003    Kevin Belmonte 
                William Wilberforce: A Hero for Humanity (Navpress 2002)
2002    Joseph Pearce 
                Solzhenitsyn: A Soul in Exile (Baker 2001)
2001     Timothy Dudley-Smith 
                John Stott: The Making of a Leader (Intervarsity 1999)