Interdenominational Spirit

Beeson Divinity School, like other elements of Samford University, is open to persons from all denominations. While Samford is a Baptist institution, it intends through Beeson to offer a spirit of goodwill and to operate in an intentionally interdenominational and explicitly evangelical manner.

The confessional context in which the faculty teaches is defined by the Baptist Faith and Message statement of 1963, although serious attention is given to all major theological traditions and students are welcome from all Christian denominations.

Currently, the student body at Beeson is represented by some thirty different denominations. Our faculty is also interdenominational. Beeson has seven endowed chairs:  The Charles T. Carter Baptist Chair of Divinity, The Anglican Chair of Divinity,  The Methodist Chair of Divinity,  The Presbyterian Chair of Divinity,  The Billy Graham Chair of Evangelism, and two other non-Baptist chairs. The divinity school is therefore in the unique position of being an interdenominational and an evangelical school within a Baptist university.